About the AOFAS

The American Orthopaedic Foot & Ankle Society (AOFAS), founded in 1969, is a medical specialty society comprised of more than 2,200 orthopaedic surgeons (MDs and DOs) from the US and abroad who specialize in the care of patients with injuries, diseases, and other conditions of the foot and ankle.
The Society's organizational priorities are Education and Research.

The Focus: Reconstruction -- Sports Medicine -- Trauma -- Technology
Orthopaedic Foot and Ankle Surgeons specialize in the diagnosis,medical and surgical treatment of disorders of the musculoskeletal system of the foot and ankle, including bones, joints, ligaments, muscles, tendons, nerves and skin. These surgeons perform reconstructive procedures, treat sports injuries, and manage and treat trauma of the foot and ankle.  

Orthopaedic Training

Members of the AOFAS have completed four years of medical school and five years of accredited graduate education (residency training) in orthopaedic surgery. Most members have completed an additional year of advanced fellowship training in the care of the foot and ankle.

Active Members are certified by the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery,  American Osteopathic Board of Orthopedic Surgery or the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. Active Members also hold membership in the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, the American Osteopathic Academy of Orthopedics, or the Canadian Orthopaedic Association.

Foot & Ankle Specialists

Orthopaedic surgeons who specialize in foot care employ medical, physical and surgical methods to restore function lost as a result of injury and disease to the foot and ankle. They coordinate their treatment methods with a foot care team that includes other physicians, nurses, physical therapists, physician assistants, and pedorthists. The orthopaedist’s areas of expertise include the knowledge and techniques necessary to treat:
  • Injuries such as fractures, dislocations, sprains, torn ligaments and amputations.
  • Joint destruction requiring joint replacement
  • Sports injuries
  • Arthritis
  • Loss of joint and muscle function caused by disease or injury
  • Bunions, hammertoes and flatfeet
  • Nerve disorders such as neuroma and tarsal tunnel syndrome
  • Congenital deformities such as clubfoot
  • Pediatric problems such as in-toeing and out-toeing and leg length discrepancy
  • Infections and tumors of bones, joints, tendons and muscles 

CME Accreditation

The American Orthopaedic Foot & Ankle Society has been resurveyed by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) and awarded Accreditation with Commendation for six years (7/2014 - 7/2020) as a provider of continuing medical education for physicians.

ACCME accreditation seeks to assure the medical community and the public that AOFAS provides physicians with relevant, effective, practice-based continuing medical education that supports US health care quality improvement. The ACCME employs a rigorous, multilevel process for evaluating institutions' continuing medical education programs according to the high accreditation standards adopted by all seven ACCME member organizations. These organizations of medicine in the US are the American Board of Medical Specialties, the American Hospital Association, the American Medical Association, the Association for Hospital Medical Education, the Association of American Medical Colleges, the Council of Medical Specialty Societies, and the Federation of State Medical Boards of the US, Inc.


The AOFAS is governed by an elected 11 member Board of Directors. The 2018-2019 President is J. Chris Coetzee, MD, of Edina, Minnesota. Other officers are President-Elect William C. McGarvey, MD, Katy, Texas; Vice President Bruce E. Cohen, MD, Charlotte, North Carolina; Secretary Christorpher W.. DiGiovanni, MD, Waltham, Massachusetts; Treasurer Bryan D. Den Hartog, MD, St. Paul, Minnesota; and Immediate Past President Thomas H. Lee, MD, Pickerington, Ohio 

Members-at-Large on the Board are Samuel B. Adams, Jr., MD, Durham, North Carolina; John T. Campbell, MD, Baltimore, Maryland; A. Holly Johnson, MD, New York, New York; and Sandra E. Klein, MD, St. Louis, Missouri. 

AOFAS Executive Office

The AOFAS Executive Office is located in Rosemont, Illinois. Elaine M. Leighton, MPH, CAE, is the Executive Director.

The AOFAS is a 501(c)(3) organization.